• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

South of Athens

mitchntx

Follower of Rev. Doug
Reaction score
First Name
Mitch
Last Name
Warren
When I was a kid, my folks lived south of Athens on a ranch between LaRue and Poynor. I graduated LaPoynor in '77.

I had a motorcycle as my only means of transportation and social life.

There are a LOT of FM rides leaving Athens on hiway 19. Unfortunately, after all these years, I can't recall specific FM road numbers. But, any of the FM roads that jettison off Texas 19 or State 175 are great rides. Some will take you all the way to Palestine, Jacksonville or Tyler..

I particularly liked the FM that goes from Chandler, skirts around the north side of Lake Palestine, through Moore's Station, Poynor, Brushy Creek and then on to Palestine.

There are some nice rides leaving Frankston. One in particular leads you past the old compound of the pre-David Koresh Branch Davidians, called "Holy Ground". As kids we used to spin yarns about the "Holy Grounders" and how they would abduct kids ... crazy stuff ... we were kids, what can I say.

Leaving LaRue and heading west all the land on the south belongs(ed) to the Murchisons ... the Murchisons of Dallas Cowboy fame. Had a school buddy whose father worked there and I got to ride my old dirt bike (SL 175 :rider: ) out there a lot. The land stretched almost to Poynor and took in a nifty "mountain". We rode up, around, down ... every where on that mountain.

We even rode the train tracks (again, we were kids) from LaRue to poyner a few times. There were some nifty trestle bridges to cross.

Now that I'm back in the saddle after so many years, I have a real hankerin' to re-explore those old roads ...