• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Off-Road Riding Gear

Reaction score
Another noob question thread...

Now that I got a bike, it's time to gear up. I'm clueless as to what is appropriate, other than what I see in mags and online. Being an ATGATT road rider and having a closet full of road gear, I'm a bit puzzled by the rather "skimpy" attire on most off-roaders. The baggy pants and jerseys just don't seem all that protective - relative to the typical road gear with CE-approved armor pieces "lock in" where they are meant to protect.

Sorry if I sound dismissive. That is not my intent. I am guessing there are genuinely good reasons for off-road gear being how they are. I'm new to the sport and am just trying to make sense of it all and figure out how I am supposed to gear up for:

1. Forest riding
2. Dual sport riding, mix of street but mostly dirt

Helmet and boots are a given. Should I add external armor and neck brace on top of jersey and pants? Why do the gloves look like they are for gardening? :confused:

Skimpy = Cool, as in temperature. Plus dirt = no road rash. And your average speed, unless desert racing, is typically <30 mph, and frequently, <15 mph. However, your gear selection may vary with anticipated road time.

There are plenty of options and a myriad of opinions. Just Google "adventure ride" or "dual sport gear" and take yer pick.

Most of the time, the armor is under the jersey and pants.

Not long ago, gear was either for dirt or street and there wasn't much crossover. That has changed a lot just in the last ten years or so. I now have one set of gear that I wear for both street and dual sport. But, it might be a bit much for full on dirt bike riding, like single track trails in the woods.