• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Speedbleeder – brake bleeding made easy

Reaction score
Sorry if this is old news but...

I didn’t pull anything on a search so I thought I’d tell everyone about what I think is an easy and fast way of replacing/changing your brake/clutch fluid. I’ve been using these “speedbleeders” for about 7 years (on my last 3 bikes) and have had very good results. The speedbleeder simply replaces your old bleeder screw. The speedbleeder has a spring loaded valve (ball bearing) inside the unit that prevents air from being sucked back into the slave cylinder while bleeding the brake fluid. Here’s how I change my brake/clutch fluid in about 5 minutes with no mess (and no bubbles) at all.

First, simply replace the old bleeder screw with the speedbleeder. Then…

1) Attach the included rubber hose (you can order from speedbleeder and reuse) to the speedbleeder’s nipple which will empty into a receptacle for disposal.
2) Loosen the speedbleeder about one quarter turn (to open it for draining fluid)
3) Remove the master cylinder’s fluid reservoir cover.
4) Then simply pump the master brake or clutch lever to pump the old fluid out the speedbleeder while, at the same time, pouring new fluid into the master reservoir making sure you don’t run the reservoir too low (and let air in the line)
5) Keep pumping and adding fresh fluid until the fluid runs out clear then tighten the speedbleeder and put the reservoir cover back on making sure the reservoir has the correct amount of fluid in it.