PDA

View Full Version : Why did you buy a Suzuki Bandit?

PhilS
01-25-2008, 07:57 PM
i work as an engine builder, for honda performance development.
we provide engines to teams that race the IRL, and honda powered ALMS racing series.

Based on this comment and he rides a very cool version of "our" bike, I am curious why we all bought the Bandit over, for example:

Honda 919
Yamaha FZ1
Kawasaki Z1000
BMW R1200R

And so on.

For me, the following reasons over the competition:

The 919 - Old design and looks, no cool bodywork at all, and more money. But, it's a Honda and I thought Honda was more reliable and better overall.

The FZ1 - Man, this was a hard one. But, two things killed the deal: The seat looked way less comfortable and it was more money.

The Z1000 - Good looks, but I could not get past the exhaust - it was kinda goofy looking to me. I wanted something a bit more standard. As well, the seat did not look as good as the Bandit's nor did the Kaw look like it would take to a hard bag touring setup as well.

The R1200R - This one was an easy decision based SOLELY on price. If the Beemer was not $4000+ more, but maybe only $2000 more, I would be on a different forum. I love that bike - it was simply too much money and it would have been more to modify and repair. Basically, Cost of Ownership was expected to be much higher.

I rode none of the above including the Bandit before I bought due to stingy dealers, but I am completely, and overly satisfied with the 1250.

Anyone else have any thoughts on this?

suzukijo
01-25-2008, 08:19 PM
i had seriously looked at the 919. for some silly reason, i bought the 1250 instead.

i had some other delusions, like buying a '06 GSXR 1000, and going streetfighter with it, but in knee-jerk reaction, thought the 1250 would be a good buy.

so far, the 1250 has been a good bike. i wish it had less weight, more hp, higher standard components, but stock, 'it aint bad'.