PDA

View Full Version : Oil/temp Gauge Update


rworm
02-05-2008, 05:58 PM
http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh44/robertworm/bandit071.jpg



http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh44/robertworm/bandit067.jpg
Nice shot of my mock up bar spacers-aluminum ones are made:zen: month ago

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh44/robertworm/bandit065.jpg


http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh44/robertworm/bandit070.jpg


http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh44/robertworm/bandit069.jpg
had a zip tie to tight pinching oil line-made pressure low-

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh44/robertworm/th_bandit.jpg (http://s253.photobucket.com/albums/hh44/robertworm/?action=view&current=bandit.flv)
No camera man awards for sure:rofl:
rworm

bones
02-05-2008, 06:39 PM
that looks real nice! Wanna sell me a couple! hahaha

rworm
02-05-2008, 08:34 PM
meet ya at TOADSUCK:rider:

I like the way it turned out-




rworm

suzukijo
02-05-2008, 09:03 PM
rworm
gages look nice.
i cant tell , if you like the shiney stuff,
but some polish on the headers will bring back the chrome look. its a chemical thing.

MetrickMetal
02-05-2008, 09:16 PM
Worm,

The gauges came out nice.

One thing I forot to mention that might make your pressure readings more accurate would be to try and find a 0-60 or 0-50 psi range gauge as oppossed to the 0-100 psi gauge your using, as with any type of pressure gauge, whether measuiring the psi of air or Hydraulics is most accurate when the gauge is reading in the upper 2/3rd's of the range of the gauge, and reading in the bottom 3rd of the range on a pressure gauge can lead to an inaccurate reading.

rworm
02-05-2008, 09:18 PM
rworm
gages look nice.
i cant tell , if you like the shiney stuff,
but some polish on the headers will bring back the chrome look. its a chemical thing.

Want mine black!!!!!!!!!!!!!

rworm

rworm
02-05-2008, 09:23 PM
Worm,

The gauges came out nice.

One thing I forot to mention that might make your pressure readings more accurate would be to try and find a 0-60 or 0-50 psi range gauge as oppossed to the 0-100 psi gauge your using, as with any type of pressure gauge, whether measuiring the psi of air or Hydraulics is most accurate when the gauge is reading in the upper 2/3rd's of the range of the gauge, and reading in the bottom 3rd of the range on a pressure gauge can lead to an inaccurate reading.

So, when it says its at 50# where are you saying its at 25# so my whole gauge project was a failure




rworm

MetrickMetal
02-05-2008, 09:31 PM
So, when it says its at 50# where are you saying its at 25# so my whole gauge project was a failure




rworm


No, I'm not saying your whole gauge project is a failure, I am just stating what is a known fact about pressure gauges, in that when your using a 0-100PSI gauge to measure pressure that maxes out at say 20 psi, the reading is not going to be nearly as accurate as if you were using a 0-30 psi gauge.

For as accurate measurement as possible you don't want to be using using a pressure gauge that has a max indicating range 4 to 5 times greater than the max pressure your measuring, and ideally you want to use a gauge that your highest system pressure is in the upper 2/3 to 3/4 range of the gauge.

Whatever IS the highest pressure reading you have seen on your gauge, I would probably suggest getting a gauge that reads maybe 10 to 15 psi higher max so as to have the greatest accuracy.

Its possible that you might actually be able to get by with even a 0-30psi range gauge, which would be ideal according to what you have seen on your gauge so far, which would give you great accuracy.

This same rational on pressure gauges also applies to things like torque wrenches, which are also most accurate also when used in the upper 3/4 of their range.


I did a search and found some places that carry lower psi range pressure gauges.
http://www.pressuregauges.net/

rworm
02-06-2008, 05:25 AM
No, I'm not saying your whole gauge project is a failure, I am just stating what is a known fact about pressure gauges, in that when your using a 0-100PSI gauge to measure pressure that maxes out at say 20 psi, the reading is not going to be nearly as accurate as if you were using a 0-30 psi gauge.

The amount of error can could be as much as 15 to 20 percent or higher when using a pressure gauge that has a max indicating range 4 to 5 times greater than the max pressure your measuring, and ideally you want to use a gauge that your highest system pressure is in the upper 2/3 to 3/4 range of the gauge.

Actully whatever the highest pressure reading you have seen on your gauge, I would probably suggest getting a gauge that reads maybe 10 psi higher so as to have the greatest accuracy.

Its possible that you might actually be able to get by with even a 0-30 psi range gauge, which would be ideal according to what you have seen on your gauge so far, which would give you great accuracy.

This same rational on pressure gauges also applies to things like torque wrenches, which are also most accurate also when used in the upper 3/4 of their range.


I did a search and found some places that carry lower psi range pressure gauges.
http://www.pressuregauges.net/

Sorry bout failure thing;-) checked out my specs on these gauges-temp and water-ANSI GRADE 2%of span in middle of scale-i dont really know what this means??????????



rworm

MetrickMetal
02-06-2008, 10:55 AM
Sorry bout failure thing;-) checked out my specs on these gauges-temp and water-ANSI GRADE 2%of span in middle of scale-i dont really know what this means??????????



rworm

From what you told me, it sounds as if this is a class B pressure gauge and that the manufacturer is claiming the accuracy of the gauge's to be within +/- 2% over the middle half of the scale, which in the case of your gauge would be at a pressure reading of 50 psi.

rworm
02-06-2008, 03:27 PM
Called an old friend last night-Todd owner of Barkleys auto here in Greenbrier-told him about gauges on bike and i did not trust readings-so i drove it over there and dropped it off last night so we could start it up this morning and check it cold up to operating temp-from 37 degrees this morning- about 45 in shop-Ihad left all tubing that came with gauge neatly coiled up next to gauge under plastic-6feet came so after the hook up it would be about 2 1/2 feet-pulled that out he cut it stuck a tee in it(this took him about 2 minutes) and put this gauge on it http://buy1.snapon.com/products/diagnostics/mt37a.asp
When we started the bike COLD both gauges went to 68# and started to come down together to about 22# after just a couple of minutes give it throttle both gauges climbed and fell together-So all that to find out that the gauge is really bad close-he told me before we started that it would be-anyway got to visit with an old buddy which would have never happened without a BANDIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!NOW THATS A GOOD BIKE:rider:



rworm

treybrad
02-26-2008, 12:01 PM
How are the gauges working out? Any problems getting them wet?

Can you show where/how you tapped into the cooling system for the water temp gauge? I'm wanting to get some kind of gauge before summer comes, it'd be helpful to see how you plumbed in yours.

Thanks,

trey

rworm
02-26-2008, 12:16 PM
How are the gauges working out? Any problems getting them wet?

Can you show where/how you tapped into the cooling system for the water temp gauge? I'm wanting to get some kind of gauge before summer comes, it'd be helpful to see how you plumbed in yours.

Thanks,

trey

I wash it with my pressure washer/then blow it with my leaf blower/then rub,rub rub no problems-1st pic in this thread you can see brass fitting under tank/nuthin but a tee/


rworm
It is nice to glance down and see all is OK

gunzip
02-26-2008, 07:24 PM
I like your gauges in those panels : as soon as I got my Bandit home i started planning what all i was going to mount there. I'll probably buy a spare so i can go back to stock....[ help i can't quit spending!!!! :giveup: ]

Trailduster
02-27-2008, 08:12 PM
Like your bar risers! did you make them or buy them somewhere? are they 1" ? thanks SZ.

rworm
02-28-2008, 05:31 AM
Like your bar risers! did you make them or buy them somewhere? are they 1" ? thanks SZ.

made them out of barstock/then aluminum/still havent put aluminum ones on yet
rworm