PDA

View Full Version : DigitalMeter (Volt) install


bones
02-06-2008, 10:18 AM
I decided against auto gauges to get engine temp so I mounted the volt meter from Digital Meter (http://www.digitalmeter.com/cgi-bin/webshop.cgi?config=configspc.txt)

Pretty simple. I will wire it up later once I get my GPS wire kit and a 12V lighter plug both switched via waterproof toggles. Also will hard wire in a Escort radar later to be purchased.

Took me several runs to get it where I could see it from my vantage point. I packed my tank bag to the brim also for a 'worst case" scenario. Once I had it where I wanted it I drilled 4 holes. It was a tight fit with the drill so I missed the edge. Then I dremeled the rest and test fit, dremel, test fit, etc. you get the idea.

http://30bones.smugmug.com/photos/251370641-L.jpg

http://30bones.smugmug.com/photos/251370602-L.jpg

http://30bones.smugmug.com/photos/251370670-L.jpg

http://30bones.smugmug.com/photos/251370560-L.jpg

Retainer clip and trim ring
http://30bones.smugmug.com/photos/251370469-L.jpg

I am talking with Andrew with Digital Meter about using the stock oil pressure sender for the idiot light into a gauge just like above. We'll see how this pans out the more we talk. If I have to I will send him parts off mine to make this work.

Just got this in an email
We'd need a sensor with an analog output relative to temp.

Anyone tell me if this is possible? Hoping so. Thanks

MetrickMetal
02-06-2008, 10:48 AM
Bones,

What you'll need is an electrical sending unit like this that converts the psi into an electrical output signal that will operate the digital gauge. Summit Racing sells a lot of differant oil pressure sending units.

The stock idiot light sending unit will not work for operating a digital oil pressure gauge, as it does not have an output signal, as it is just a normally closed switch that the oil pressure keeps open as long as the pressure is high enough, and when the pressure drops below the force of the spring in the sending unit, the switch closes and connects to ground, causing the idiot light to come on.

http://static.summitracing.com/global/images/prod/small/vdo-360086_w_s.jpg

http://store.summitracing.com/egnsearch.asp?Ntt=oil+pressure+gauges&N=700+115+4294856110&Ntk=KeywordSearch

bones
02-06-2008, 11:02 AM
Thank you very much! I really hope I can make this work as I have read really good things about these gauges and their accuracy.

I'll forward this to Andrew

rworm
02-06-2008, 03:31 PM
That looks nice bones-good job




rworm