PDA

View Full Version : Anyone added temp gauge/others to your Bandit?


Sheep
04-24-2008, 05:20 PM
Tried a search but no luck, so.....

Has anyone added an Autometer or such gauge to your 1250? I'm wanting to add a temp gauge and perhaps a voltmeter (maybe an OP) on the inside flat panels of the fairing. If anyone has done this (think I saw someone's bike with a couple add-ons) I'd be interested to know how easy/complicated it was and how/where you hooked up the sending units. Temp sending unit placed in radiator or off block? Any tips would be appreciated.:thumb:

Went to dealer's service shop and they were absolutely no help for info.

TIA,
David

Trailduster
04-24-2008, 09:19 PM
Look at rworms on the black bars post, its just above this post at the moment.

treybrad
04-25-2008, 02:37 PM
http://www.twtex.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24737&highlight=gauge

http://www.twtex.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24777&highlight=gauge

I'd like to get a water temp one before summer comes... rworm is the only one who I know that has actually done it.

For a volt meter, check out www.digitalmeter.com. I have one and love it. If I could get a h20 temp that looked just like it, that'd be perfect.

Bones did a nice install tutorial:

http://www.twtex.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24792&highlight=meter

trey

dmerc
04-25-2008, 05:04 PM
I'd like to know where rworm put the temp guage sending unit too.

I put a guage on my FZ, and actually drilled/tapped into the plastic assembly that the radiator cap screws on to,(further down, NOT in the neck!!) but it had plenty of room for the sender's probe to stick in there, and had a nice thick web that I knew would be strong enough, and thick enough to seal pipe threads okay.

The Bandit, from pics I've seen, prob'ly doesn't.

I see the bandit's cap is UNDER the gas tank??? ***? :lol2: Hadn't even noticed till a few minutes ago.

Apparently after draining,you've gotta' fill the coolant and run it to get the air out, with the tank OFF?:flip:

rworm
04-26-2008, 05:43 AM
I'd like to know where rworm put the temp guage sending unit too.


dmerc,
I used a brass tee under tank with a 2 inch nipple for probe
rworm

dmerc
04-26-2008, 10:06 AM
Thanks RW, I s'pose it was obvious, but I haven't had my tank off yet.

Sheep
04-26-2008, 10:09 AM
Yup, Rob, I think it was yours I may have seen in some thread previously; they look good and that's about same as I've been considering.

Ordinarily I'd only use analog types, but for this bike's supplementary ones I'm going with digitals... larger #'s will help with quick peek then eyes back up on road.