• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Enduro Newbie

Reaction score
First Name
Richard
Can somebody teach me a thing or three about Enduro's or point me to the appropriate FAQ's or other resource pages?

One of my other crazy DS riding buddies is trying to convince me to run an Enduro in March and I'm totally new to these types of events.

A little background: I've been riding for about 2 years and spent plenty of time in the saddle as a kid, but nothing competitive. I've owned a KLR (recently sold), have a plated xr400, and am looking for a used CRF 450X.

Any advise/descriptions of these events and necessary gear/numbers/timers, etc. is much appreciated.

The Texas State Championship Enduro Circuit is the sanctioning body for most of the enduros in Texas. Their web site (ww.tscec.org) is a useful source of information. Our season just started last Sunday. Our next event is near Quitaque, TX (Caprock Canyon Enduro) on March 15.

There are also several enduros in Louisiana. They have a sanctioning body also- but I don't remember the name.

The Trail Riders of Houston would be another source for you. They actually hold several 'family enduros' during the year- close to Houston. These are for beginners and kids- but still a fun ride for all.

Enduros are a great way to ride all kind of trails in a safe environment. The trails are marked and everybody is going the same direction. You may choose a class to ride in based on your experience and skill level. There are lots of rules- but for your first enduro- don't worry about the check points and timekeeping; just make a trail ride out of it. Find an experienced rider to ride with or ride with your buddies. You will have a blast with no intimidation.