• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Daytime Headlight Modulator

I am a total newbie not only to this forum ,but to the motorcycling in general. Has anyone added a headlight modulator for better visibility? JC Whitney has a model (http://www.jcwhitney.com/autoparts/.../s-10101/Ntk-AllTextSearchGroup?Ntt=modulator) and wanted to see if it's worth it.

Howard

I've been using a modulator a bit over a year now. It definately increases your visibility.

I think its important to not operate it when following the same car for a long period of time, and for sure not when stopped in traffic.

I have had three cases where it has sparked anger in other drivers, once was my fault for modulating in stop and go traffic.

The other two were cars on the highway who by various hand gestures and erratic driving conveyed their disapproval even though I was not following them.

I've been against them for the reason stated above. If it makes people angry that I have it on, and they are being blinded by it, then why would I like doing that? Just like I don't have ridiculously loud pipes and rev them every chance I get.

I guess I just don't get the whole "visibility vs. making people angry" thing. I don't want to be mistaken for an emergency vehicle, I don't want people to curse at me because I'm making their eyes hurt, and I don't want people making aggressive and dangerous moves at me because I choose to do something to them that hurts their vision and ability to pilot their vehicle.

Yep, it's legal to have one (which I'm sure there is someone that will shortly point that out to me, thanks). But legal, and the right thing to do, don't always go hand in hand I'm afraid. Anyway, there are my thoughts on it.