PDA

View Full Version : Pressure Gauges

Rdslvr04
06-14-2005, 09:15 PM
Ok y'all. Now my compulsiveness just shot up by 1000 points. Thanks to a previous post I am now wondering if my air pressure gauge is working correctly. Is there or does anyone know of a pressure gauge that actually works correctly and can be checked on a regular basis for its accuracy?

P.S. Now no one please say any thing about chain maintenance/repair tools. :lol:

[Moved to Hardware - Mod.]

wabbit
06-14-2005, 10:10 PM
I've got a digital one from pep boys it suits me well. It is accurate to within .5 psi according to the box.

I am not sure abosulte accuracy is necessary because tire pressure changes with outside air temp as the air heats up and expands. Your tire pressure also changes as the tires heat up from riding on them. I am no expert but I imagine .5psi accuracy is good for all but Valentino Rossi and company.

kurt
06-14-2005, 10:15 PM
I 've got one of these. And three others. This one seems to be the best, and I like the fact it holds the reading and you can slightly overinflate then bleed the pressure down with the pressure release.

http://www.smart-traveler.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/accu-gage_h60x2.jpg

I've been known to check mine against the gauge on the air compressor just as a comparison.

Red5
06-15-2005, 12:10 AM
+1 on the Accu-Gage choice. A bit bulky and heavy, but it's very accurate and the pressure release is a nice feature. Only problem I encountered was the screws on the back of the face plate came loose on my first one and got lost when carrying it around in my tail trunk. That made the face on the front jiggle around whenever I tried using it. Bought another and haven't had any problems since.

-Frank

Chirpy
06-15-2005, 12:12 AM