• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Tire change tools

atonic

Reaction score
I'm 400 miles from home/bike/manual. Planning to do a tire change first thing when I get home.

What tools, if any, will I need? Specifically, hex or sockets in larger sizes.

I'm no expert but I think knowing what kind of bike will be helpful. The tuono uses a 32mm rear and I think 30mm front. I used 2 pit bull stands for the front and rear.

Good luck

Dang bandit subforum.... I wish there was a way to hide it from the homepage view...

But don't worry Tony, I thought the exact same thing when I read the post.:lol2:

Large cresent wrench for the front and rear axles. I didn't even have to use a 15/16's set up to hold back up on the front. 12 mm for pinch bolts in front. 10 and 12 mm to adjust rear. I forget exactly what size American 1/2" drive sockets I use with 1/2 in torque wrench to tighten axles to finale. Use 3/8's
12mm and 14 mm and large screw driver for capilars
Three long tire irons. Soap spray. That rear is a tuff dude to get off the rim and get started on the rim.
Air compressor, hose, chuck and tire gauge.

You can do a half **** balance job before you put the capilars back on. Better to have a stand and balance set up though. Sure makes it easier.

Think that's all I use for my '07 GSF1250S I think. May have forgot something.
I just did my 3rd tire swap since having the bike 15 months and 20,000 + miles.

Last edited by a moderator:
Tools needed - big sockets to pull wheels off front and rear, a stand to hoist the front end off the ground, then your credit card or cash to pay a guy to R&R the tires and balance them maybe where you bought them.