• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

When In Doubt Turn to TWT

rhrose

Reaction score
OK here's the dilemma. I am wanting to take some rides in the Hill Country (coming out of San Antonio), but I am new to the sport, and thus a very inexperienced rider. Everything I read on the internet regarding such roads as the 3 Sisters, Willow Loop, Hwy.16, etc. go out of their way to say these roads are not recommended for beginners. So what's a guy to do?? Surely there must be some roads in the Hill Country that even a novice can ride if he/she keeps their speed down, uses caution and keeps their concentration dialed in.

So it would be a big big help if y'all would give me the straight scoop on a few country roads even a newb can ride. Also, I am looking for the same type of roads in North Texas with Plano as a starting point. Sure hope y'all can remember back when you were just getting started and were scared to death of those *#*&&^% cages and hair pin turns.

Thanks In Advance

Follow your nose. If you listen to some you would never get out of your driveway. A Hairpin turn is found down at the corner of your street. Seems the The Sisters are not for experienced riders either!:doh: Seems the brash crash, those that ride within their limits do just fine. Pick a direction and go. You well do just fine.

Just in my little opinion, the sisters and Hwy 16 are just fine for beginners as long as you go slow. Know your limits, know the bike's limits, and don't ride over your head.

If you do that, you'll be just fine.

Hill Country riding is actually perfect for beginners, for it will bond you to the sport for a lifetime of thrilling riding.