• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

1250 Performance Mod Questions

Reaction score
OK, I'm a noob when it comes to performance increases on FI engines. I'm also in the beginning stages of saving up to get the most I can out of the 1250 motor without replacing innards. Since it will be quite some time until I can afford to completely upgrade everything currently available, I'm trying to determine two main things:

1) Which of the "free" performance upgrades can be made before a TFI or PC is needed?
2) If operating on a budget, which performance upgrades provide the most bang for the buck, and what would be the proper order in performing them?

I plan to eventually upgrade my entire system, most likely with Dale Walker's complete Holeshot system, but if there's anything I can do in the meantime (i.e., free) until I save up the $$, I'd like to take care of it now.

Performance Mod (Cost)

1. Remove secondary butterflies (free)
2. Block/remove PAIR valve (free)
3. Modify air box cover (free)
4. (Is this where the TFI/PCIII is needed?)
5. Gut the cat (free)
6. Replace OEM muffler with Slip-on ($250-450)
7. Replace midpipe and headers (also removes cat) ($500?)

TIA!

I wouldn't do the air box mod or secondary flies without making sure the A/F ratio is correct which can be adjusted with a pc or tfi...Alot of owners have done it and haven't reported any problems...However, as far as I know it is yet to be seen what the A/F ratio actually looks like when doing these mods by themselves on the Bandit 1250...