• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

A goon-fotch and her ride to New Mexico

Reaction score
I am hoping to head out to Northern New Mexico this Monday, if all works out. My childhood home is in Los Alamos, and I know that if I don't do this now, I never will. I will be solo, and am following the suggested (by Mike and Cynthia Fletcher) route below. Any advice is very appreciated--I'm a rookie at anything like this, have done a couple of pie runs and weekend camping trips w/ Windsong, obviously nothing like this. I have a three week window, and need to get this done before the 2nd of August. Plus, my town is having a "all class" reunion, and I really want to see some old friends. I will be riding a Honda Shadow 1100. My gear needs to be minimal, as much of the weight carried will be textbooks for studying while I am home. Heavy textbooks. I have the tools that came w/ the bike, new tires, recent fluid changes. My fear (s!!) is something happening to the bike while I am on a stretch--like a blown tire. I figure it will take 3 days each way-- If anyone out there has advice, or lives somewhere along this route and can give suggestion for things to watch for, I sure would appreciate it. Thankyou. http://www.bing.com/maps/?v=2&cp=32...521683_Los Alamos, NM___e_&mode=D&rtop=0~0~0~

Any way you could make copies of what you might need to study? I've done this before instead of carrying ridiculously heavy textbooks. Or maybe ship the textbooks to where you're staying?

Sounds like an adventure! Have fun, trust in yourself and be safe!