• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

I MUST be a professional....

M38A1

Admin
Reaction score
First Name
Scott
.....based on the number of requests for copies of the shots I captured this evening. :rofl:

I was probably asked half a dozen times this evening down on 6th Street if I was a professional photographer, where my pictures would be uploaded, did I have a Facebook account, was I with the newspaper, and how can they get a print tonight. I surmise a lot had to do with alcohol and youth, but I have to admit the evening was kind of entertaining in that respect.

So, how many of you get the "Are you a professional"? question simply because you have a big honkin' lens stuck on the front of that evil looking black DSLR?

And what do you tell them? I just stuck with the standard line of "No, not professional, just a hobby" which seems to work well.

I think the distinction of professional with regards to photography is it's your primary source of income or you get paid. Obviously this requires skill, equipment, desire, luck, networking and all the other qualities of any professional in any career. The fact someone (potential customer) believes you are a professional and asks is a better sign than if you believe you are....similar to most careers.

I've been asked based on some of my work, which is a very small percentage of photo's snapped. Never had the desire to sell or make money, but rather enjoy capturing stuff in photos to savor later, so just a non-professional as well. I do put up my photos on the walls of my office and home when appropriate and set up galleries for family and friend on event, just never require payment for services.