• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Copper Canyon, Part I

Reaction score
First Name
David
Last Name
Bell
The first time I heard about Copper Canyon, my mom was talking about riding a train down there to see a canyon that was bigger than Grand Canyon. She loved Mexico and always wanted to retire there, but never did. In college a fraternity brother was said to 'own the copper canyon train'. He had a real nice car and several Rolex's, so maybe he did, (or his dad did).

I started riding dual sport motorcycles a few years ago. I bought a used KLR650 from a mechanic in a nearby town. He had only had it a few days, and put it on Craigslist to make some money. I had learned that they sell fast, so I went and put the money in his hand. For the next few weeks I did the usual improvements. I went to Mexico twice and Big Bend once, meanwhile trying to improve her as much as possible. Part of the process was better parts, and part was to learn as much about her as possible so I could fix her if she broke. I have also gotten some other dirt bikes and have a one mile trail on my land that goes into some tough spots, so I wouldn't crash as much on a trip since my dirt skills were improving. My klr is a 2002 and I have gone over it with a fine tooth comb, both because I enjoy working on it and because I don't want to break down in Mexico 500 miles from the border and have to pay someone to take me home. So far so good.
th_IMG_0080-1.jpg

I have taken two trips to the Sierra Madre Range near the town of Galeana, about 150 miles South of Monterrey. I have also ridden motorcycles in the Big Bend area of Texas several times. Those trips are very enjoyable and I hope to make more. I still wanted to go to Copper Canyon.