• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

GPS Units

Reaction score
Quick question or 2 maybe someone can help.

I am looking at getting a Garmin Legend GPS. It's cheap and looks like it is a good intro type unit. I have never used them before and really don't want to sink money into a gadget I may not like or use. Any experience with this unit or the variety of maps available?

Second the computer I am looking at buying doesn't come equipped with a built in serial port. Is there a USB adapter for the GPS? I assume there is a PCI card for the computer available.

spend the money. you'll love gps.

Dont know anything about that particular system.

Hey, If you're interested, I may sell you my Garmin Legend GPS for a good price. I've had it a while now and was considering an upgrade to the GPSMAP 60C.

I have the Legend GPS, the power/data cable, an extra data cable, and a really great RAM mount for the GPS for mounting it on the bike. It's solid as a rock.

I've used this GPS for a couple of years and it's in perfect condition. Extremely handy on bike trips. Or car trips for that matter...

Rick