• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Best for crash/tip over/slide protection and required mods...?

Reaction score
Hi there newbie here to the site, I did a search but could not find what I was looking for so I'm posting a thread.

I just bought a new to me '08 CND Bandit (with the fairing) and with a nick name like "Fall Guy" I want to do what I can (within reason) to protect my bike from a fall/crash.

I've protected my KLR, DR350/650 and Vulcan but I've never owned a ST/sport bike before so I'm looking for advice on how to protect my new ride. Do I just mount up some Twisted throttle engine guards and call it good (like my dual sport/enduro bikes) or are frame sliders enough and if yes do I buy four of them (one set for the front and one for the rear) or?

Are those $15/pair from fleaebay worthy or does one have to spend $50+ for a set?

Also what other mods are a must for the 1250 Bandit (ie; is there a web page I can go to and find out the whats and the hows)? For example are mirror extenders a must, how about the seat mod to raise the front?, are risers needed (I put risers on all my other bikes to improve riding comfort), hwy bars/pegs? I"m 5' 9" 32 inseam and ~195lbs.

I will be using the bike for long distance touring (ie: 600-800 miles/day), not so much around town.

So far the bike has the following modes:

- Zuk gel seat

- hand warmers

- going to install DL650/1000 hand guards

- Vstream 19" wind screen

- Dale Walker Stage 1

- ATRE

Thanks!