PDA

View Full Version : DRZ400SM - who has/had them?

dieselndixie
02-20-2012, 05:49 PM
Well, I love my Vstrom. Its a great all around tool. BUT...since its my first bike that isnt a "sport" bike....im missing a bit of thrill.

I work in the motorcycle industry, so I know drz is often frowned on how "tame" they are out of the box, but how much do they wake up with the recommended mods? Im a big guy (6'2 - 255) I want the drz for the reliability, the ease of maintenance, the parts availability....but I am considering the husky 610 for the power. I dont want a bike that you are ringing its neck to hit 80mph.

input? If it helps to compare...I ride a well modded crf450x in the dirt, just sold my ktm 400exc dual sport, and ride a dl1000 now, last bike was a euro converted naked fz1.

thanks

Drumboy
02-20-2012, 06:28 PM
DRZ's aren't gonna smoke a crf450x, but they're reliable and cheap to buy and maintain. Id go with a pre 06 e model so you get the better carb.

tojo92
02-20-2012, 06:37 PM
Well, I love my Vstrom. Its a great all around tool. BUT...since its my first bike that isnt a "sport" bike....im missing a bit of thrill.

I work in the motorcycle industry, so I know drz is often frowned on how "tame" they are out of the box, but how much do they wake up with the recommended mods? Im a big guy (6'2 - 255) I want the drz for the reliability, the ease of maintenance, the parts availability....but I am considering the husky 610 for the power. I dont want a bike that you are ringing its neck to hit 80mph.

input? If it helps to compare...I ride a well modded crf450x in the dirt, just sold my ktm 400exc dual sport, and ride a dl1000 now, last bike was a euro converted naked fz1.

thanks