• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Lightroom 4 released

Reaction score
First Name
Nathan
Last Name
Seery
Adobe just released Lightroom 4.
As a bonus, they've slashed the price to $149.
Upgrade from LR1/2/3 for $79.

Press release here: link

Last edited:
So I've been playing around with LR4 Beta for a while. I've never used LR before, always used PS (CS4 as of now) which shares the Camera RAW processor that LR3 has. I have to say that LR 4's RAW processor is much better then LR3's and PS CS4's. You have so much more control with the sliders and can tweek so much more without ruining the effect it's really amazing. I went back and played around with some older RAW files and produced much better end pictures using LR4 then I could with PS. As soon as my beta copy expires I'll be ponying up the $149 for the full release version.

LR4 is now in the Mac AppStore as well if that's your preferred buying point.
Depending on how they worked the license agreement, that could be a good plan if you have more than one computer you'd like LR4 on.

I'm holding off for a new laptop. I read some comments on it being slower and I don't have the fastest mac around...

Just looked at the EULA for LR4 on the AppStore and it's not any different than if you bought it anywhere else. 1 user, 1 computer.

Rusty, it worked like a champ on my ~1yr old MBP. quad-core i7 2.0Ghz, 8gb RAM, 7200rpm drive
Haven't tried it on my ~4yr old MBP at home. dual-core Core2Duo 2.53ghz, 8gb RAM, 5400 rpm drive.

Just looked at the EULA for LR4 on the AppStore and it's not any different than if you bought it anywhere else. 1 user, 1 computer.

Rusty, it worked like a champ on my ~1yr old MBP. quad-core i7 2.0Ghz, 8gb RAM, 7200rpm drive