PDA

View Full Version : Headlight modulator

Chris Mitchell
01-22-2006, 08:31 AM
I recently have discovered that people are getting much worse about not seeing me and wanting to turn in front of me a lot. I run with my bright headlights on during the day to maximumise the chance they will see me. In sheer desperation I bought a set of Kisan Technologies head light modulators for my FJR. They were very easy to install once I dug down to the headlight plugs on the back of the headlight housing. You just remove the headlight plug from the back of the lamp and plug the modules on to the lamp prongs and then plug the wiring to the back of the module. There is a wire for a photo cell that keeps the lights from modulating during the night time.
The net result is that my headlights flash on and off very rapidly on highbeam now. The reaction from people around me is very dramatic. Some think I am a cop trying to either stop them or get by them. But it is very apparant that they see you and have their eyes on what ever your up to. This has lead me to use the modulators when ever I get into close traffic situations and where ever people look like they are about to turn left in front of me or pull out of a side road. If I use them on IH-35 or MoPac it seems to weird them out so I turn them off unless i really want to send up a red flag and let them know I am around. I am willing to do just about anything to let them know I am trying passing by and want to stay alive.
I bought the modulators at Lone Star BMW bye the way. A bit pricey but I feel my life is worth it.

ben1364
01-22-2006, 11:01 AM
I can argue the headlamp modulator issue from both sides. Having said that, I use them but only in situations that seem particularly dicey.

cmcnamee
01-22-2006, 06:25 PM