• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Coolant in the Spark Plug Well

Reaction score
Greetings. I'm a noob as a member but longtime lurker, and own a 2007 Bandit 1250S with about 16,000. This is the best bike I've had since the '04 Yamaha F! (first gen) in three decades. I'm an eager DIYer but a pitiful mechanic, and on a whim decided to swap out the plugs for a set of NGK Iridiums.

Never had a bike with such close-quarters plug replacement, and I cracked at least one ignition coil and spilt some coolant into two plug wells (though I think I syringed most of the liquid out before pulling and replacing the plugs.)

Long story longer, the bike turns over and occasionally wants to start, but I'm wondering if moisture, the cracked coil and/or muscling the plug caps might require going into the cylinders.

Mods include only a K&N air filter and Yoshi R77 (if I recall) can. Like I said, I'm not the brightest bulb on the drag-racing tree and have been using the shop manual to prop up the semi-rermoved gas tank.

Should I have drained the coolant before starting my meatball plug swap?

Oops. See I posted this in the general member introduction section rather than the Bandit-specific section. Help...Mod?

Cracked coil is defiantly a problem. And yes the coils need a ton of force to make them "snap in" when reinstalling. Die electric grease helps as I found out AFTER I put it all together! :doh:

Holy moly , I was curious about the going rate of a coil!:eek2: Bikebandit 105 USD! Looks like your going to the same school as me!