• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

BMW Cylinder Head Cover Replacement

Reaction score
First Name
Charles
Hey all, I have a BMW R1200 GS. I recently bought some new covers and wanted to know if replacing them myself is doable for someone who has not worked on bikes before. I have no problem dismantling and reassembling but when fluids are involved such as oil and gas, I get a little nervous. Is this something that I should take the bike in for or do you think I can do this. I am an engineer so I don't have too many problems with mechanical things but I do want to do this right and not have a problem. The parts that I am replacing are pt# 11 12 7 673 080 and pt# 11 12 7 677 526.

here is the link to the assembly

http://www.ascycles.com/Illustrated_catalog/R1200GS(04-up)/catalog_frameset.html

and it is the "Cylinder Head Cover" drawing (9th assembly down on the left)

Thanks

Charles

I don't think you will have any problem changing the valve covers. There are some rubber gaskets you might want to have extra, but I am betting that the ones off your covers will work to move over to the new ones.
There will be some oil that will drip out, but I even keep that to a minim on the right jug by putting the GS on the side stand. (I knew it was good for something)

Depending on your miles you might want to do this change over with when you do your next valve adjustment. I am lazy that way, rather ride it than work on it.

Thanks a lot. I don't have new rubber gaskets but i have only 600 miles on the bike so i think it should be okay.

Glad to hear that there won't be too much liquid pouring out of the bike, i wouldn't want ot have to prime it again somehow.