• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Another Colorado Ride Report--Got Dirt?

Yes, I've read about the steps! Not for me. That had to be a trip on your 950. If I understand right, Black Bear is one way?? If so are the steps going up or down?

The top portion is downhill only. Some motorcyclists have been to known to sneak in an uphill climb but I have no direct knowledge of that.:eek2:

During the summer, jeeps and all the vehicles are lined up at the top waiting to go down, and there is often a county sheriff there observing.

Wait till you see the pictures of the Rico singletrack. As far as exposure and error margin, it makes Black Bear look tame. I didn't think I had a fear of heights or sensitivity to drop offs, etc. but you cannot help but getting vertigo to some degree. One of our guys pretty much had a full on panic attack at one point. You are motivating me to finish my story. Maybe tonight I will work on it. I still have a ton more to share.

Last edited:
"One of our guys pretty much had a full on panic attack at one point."

Me! And then what, lol!

"One of our guys pretty much had a full on panic attack at one point."

Me! And then what, lol!

You would be fine, I promise. There are positives and negatives about a group ride, but with a good group, which this absolutely was, a big positive is support. I am getting ahead of myself, but we helped each other walk our bikes through the worst parts and gave each other encouragement and support. If that means rerouting to find a way to a forest road, so some of the riders can catch a break, then that is what you do. No biggie.