TWT Forums  

 


Go Back   TWT Forums > General Discussion > User Reviews of Bikes, Mods, Gear, etc,... > Bikes > Suzuki Bandits

Notices

Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2010, 01:29 PM   #21
wanabeguru
 
wanabeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RIO DELL, CA
Posts: 5,785
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamadavidson View Post
It feeds to a outlet that the gps plugs into. Johhny Q more than likely wouldnt even notice the switch and since its never parked with the gps left on the bike even if someone turned it on it wouldnt drain the battery.
I always worry about a vandal shorting out a connector that is hot wired[even thru a switch] killing battery and maybe melting wiring harness!!
Just my .02 and 50 years as a tech. YMMV
__________________
Wally[electronics technician]
2007 RED BANDIT
wanabeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 10:40 AM   #22
yamadavidson
 
yamadavidson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Temecula Ca
Posts: 236
Re: Power for GPS?

Never had a problem in over 40 years of riding, but if someone wants to screw with your bike they can find all sorts of crap to do... how about just kicking it over or a hand full of sand in your oil filler. I think trying to find a way to short the electrical out would take a lot longer than many other destuctive acts.
yamadavidson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 12:50 PM   #23
wanabeguru
 
wanabeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RIO DELL, CA
Posts: 5,785
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamadavidson View Post
Never had a problem in over 40 years of riding, but if someone wants to screw with your bike they can find all sorts of crap to do... how about just kicking it over or a hand full of sand in your oil filler. I think trying to find a way to short the electrical out would take a lot longer than many other destuctive acts.
Obviously you don't work with electrical equipment. Just my .02 YMMV
__________________
Wally[electronics technician]
2007 RED BANDIT
wanabeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 04:46 AM   #24
achesley
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jennings,La.
Posts: 4,501
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamadavidson View Post
I think trying to find a way to short the electrical out would take a lot longer than many other destuctive acts.
As most bikes have fuses to protect most of the important wiring, shorting out something should blow the fuse or trip the circuit breaker. Not as bad as it used to be years ago where you would smell or see the smoke, and , just know, you're bike's electrical system is in serious trouble. Look at your bike or any bike closely and see how many ways a knife or hammer or something could be used to damage the harness. May surprise you. Now, don't do , as many do, and call an open circuit a short. Open circuits being cause by cutting the wires or smashing them till the wires inside break , leaving the insulation intact but scarred where you may not see it right off. If you're lucky, just disconnecting at the connectors.
__________________
'07 Bandit 1250S ,'00 KLR 650, '43 type Andrus Chesley Semper Fi
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 07:50 PM   #25
BanditBob
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 13
Re: Power for GPS?

This is a schematic I got online and works VERY well on my bike.

http://www.canyonchasers.net/shop/ge...gram-final.jpg

I used tied into the license plate lamp for switched power, and by using a terminal block, you can have several accessories connected, and only have to do the seet up once.
BanditBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 07:03 AM   #26
achesley
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jennings,La.
Posts: 4,501
Re: Power for GPS?

Neat diagram. I guess I'll have to bite the bullet and redo my bandit's set up sometime soon. I forgot the GPS and Radar Detector on last week and in two days, battery to far down to start the bike. Sad is I have a relay for the set up , just never installed it.
__________________
'07 Bandit 1250S ,'00 KLR 650, '43 type Andrus Chesley Semper Fi
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:41 AM   #27
wanabeguru
 
wanabeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RIO DELL, CA
Posts: 5,785
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BanditBob View Post
This is a schematic I got online and works VERY well on my bike.

http://www.canyonchasers.net/shop/ge...gram-final.jpg

I used tied into the license plate lamp for switched power, and by using a terminal block, you can have several accessories connected, and only have to do the seet up once.
Nice diagram. If I was doing the wiring I would add an inline fuse for the relay coil[protects tail light wiring and possibly more]. my .02 YMMV
__________________
Wally[electronics technician]
2007 RED BANDIT
wanabeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:36 PM   #28
BanditBob
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 13
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanabeguru View Post
Nice diagram. If I was doing the wiring I would add an inline fuse for the relay coil[protects tail light wiring and possibly more]. my .02 YMMV
You could add it, but it's not reallty needed, you're already on on the return side of the wiring, even if you ground, you're not going to short it.
__________________
Currently in the driveway:
2009 Bandit
2010 Stratoliner Deluxe
2006 Road King
2003 V-Star 1100 Classic
1993 GS500E
BanditBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:02 PM   #29
wanabeguru
 
wanabeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RIO DELL, CA
Posts: 5,785
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BanditBob View Post
You could add it, but it's not reallty needed, you're already on on the return side of the wiring, even if you ground, you're not going to short it.
Note to self: Don't have BanditBob do any wiring for me
__________________
Wally[electronics technician]
2007 RED BANDIT
wanabeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 11:57 PM   #30
Ga-Bandit
 
Ga-Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucker, GA
Posts: 1,570
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BanditBob View Post
This is a schematic I got online and works VERY well on my bike.

http://www.canyonchasers.net/shop/ge...gram-final.jpg

I used tied into the license plate lamp for switched power, and by using a terminal block, you can have several accessories connected, and only have to do the seet up once.
that's how I have my relay wired in except my switch is ground and has a fuse from the battery and taillight (OVERKILL!!!! RULES) . Works great. I have a fuse on every wire though just in case.
__________________
==================================
BANDIT of course......Black K8 w/ABS...'nough said

Ride free and live hard because you’ll never know when you’ll be called up for that final ride!

GA Civil War and other POI

Where I ride
Ga-Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:41 AM   #31
achesley
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jennings,La.
Posts: 4,501
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanabeguru View Post
Nice diagram. If I was doing the wiring I would add an inline fuse for the relay coil[protects tail light wiring and possibly more]. my .02 YMMV
I have not went through the schemac but would think it's already protected by the same fuse that protects a possible short in the taillight circuit. I ran a few relay type switches on my old BMW's for 11 years and never had a problem burning out wiring even though I did short it out accidentally playing around with a tester once and blew the light fuse on my R1150Gs.
__________________
'07 Bandit 1250S ,'00 KLR 650, '43 type Andrus Chesley Semper Fi
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:34 AM   #32
BlueStreak
 
BlueStreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 524
Re: Power for GPS?

Yes, it's protected by the license plate light fuse. Of course, if you blow that one you don't know where the fault actually lies, and if there are multiple lights on that fuse you'll lose them all. I'd hate to lose my tail and brake light because of a short in my relay wiring. I think it's still advisable to protect that with a fuse, too, but certainly not mandatory.

The real fuse issue, AFAI am Concerned, is that lack of fuses on the individual circuits. To run a heated vest and heated gloves, the main fuse is going to need to be 10 to 15 amps. But your GPS and radar detector need to be protected by a much smaller fuse. Relying on a 15 amp fuse to protect the electronic devices is bad design.

Aside from that, if the in-line fuse to the battery blows, you have no way of knowing why. Is it a short between the battery and the relay, or between the relay and one of the 4 devices. Which one? The only way to tell is to disconnect them all, replace the fuse, and then add them back one at a time.

Each circuit coming off that distribution block should be protected by its own appropriately sized fuse.
__________________
2007 Bandit 1250 SA, "Blue Streak II"
BlueStreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:50 AM   #33
wanabeguru
 
wanabeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RIO DELL, CA
Posts: 5,785
Re: Power for GPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueStreak View Post
Yes, it's protected by the license plate light fuse. Of course, if you blow that one you don't know where the fault actually lies, and if there are multiple lights on that fuse you'll lose them all. I'd hate to lose my tail and brake light because of a short in my relay wiring. I think it's still advisable to protect that with a fuse, too, but certainly not mandatory.

The real fuse issue, AFAI am Concerned, is that lack of fuses on the individual circuits. To run a heated vest and heated gloves, the main fuse is going to need to be 10 to 15 amps. But your GPS and radar detector need to be protected by a much smaller fuse. Relying on a 15 amp fuse to protect the electronic devices is bad design.

Aside from that, if the in-line fuse to the battery blows, you have no way of knowing why. Is it a short between the battery and the relay, or between the relay and one of the 4 devices. Which one? The only way to tell is to disconnect them all, replace the fuse, and then add them back one at a time.

Each circuit coming off that distribution block should be protected by its own appropriately sized fuse.
Thats why SM&P's dictate fusing all circuits thereby protecting not only the SOURCE, but ALL ASSOCIATED WIRING. my .02 YMMV
__________________
Wally[electronics technician]
2007 RED BANDIT

Last edited by wanabeguru; 11-09-2010 at 10:51 AM. Reason: add word
wanabeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 11:01 AM   #34
achesley
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jennings,La.
Posts: 4,501
Re: Power for GPS?

Yes, it does suck to lose all lights on a dark and rainy night. Been there as I was riding old Harleys, Truimps and BSA in the 50's and 60's.
I was checking my wiring this morning while putting my centerstand back on the bike. I run all my wiring though plastic tubing, plus the insulation on the wires. Habit from the above days and working on drilling rigs as a mechanic/electrician lots of my years. (probably why my body is a wreck now LOL ) All is good after 40,000 miles. No chaffing or wear marks on anything.
My last Harley in '75 had circuit breakers. And, they would steady click till the short circuit was found. In fact, a lot of us back then bought a spare breaker and my short hunters out of them instead of eating up fuses.
__________________
'07 Bandit 1250S ,'00 KLR 650, '43 type Andrus Chesley Semper Fi
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
gps


Go Back   TWT Forums > General Discussion > User Reviews of Bikes, Mods, Gear, etc,... > Bikes > Suzuki Bandits

Notices


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All Rights Reserved, Scott Friday 2003-12.
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.21293 seconds with 10 queries