• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

HJC CL-MAX and SY-MAX

Reaction score
Does anyone here have any experience, good or bad, with either of these HJC models? Would anyone recommend another modular (flip-face) helmet?

I've been riding for 25 years, and have never been a helmet wearer, but lately the thought's been crossing my mind more and more. The modulars appeal to me, because they seem user-friendly and convenient. I read the MCN reports, which rated the Nolan N100E as "Best Buy," and the HJC SY-MAX as "Recommended." Then I went shopping over at Lone Star.

I didn't care for the Nolan's fit or features, and didn't like any of the other brands they had in my size except the HJCs. They seem to offer a nice combination of features and affordability. Of the two models - CL-MAX and SY-MAX - the CL-MAX seemed to fit better, and the flip-face operation was smoother.

Given that all models meet DOT specs, and offer roughly the same protective qualities, my primary concerns are ventilation, coolness and comfort, ease-of-operation, and wind-noise.

I don't have any experience with flip-up types, but I have owned a couple of HJC's and have nothing but praise for them. In that price range, it all comes down to fit and ventilation for me.

I have a Sy-Max.
I like it, but I don't have much time on it. I bought it for the modular features, which I enjoy. I wouldn't be able to give you any meaningfull comparisons. There are a couple on the internet tho.There are a couple places on the net that sell them for $149.......thats the best price I found. Local shops sell them for $250 and up.

Buzz