• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Mexico March Ride

Reaction score
First Name
Milton
Last Name
Otto
Ok. This is my first attempt at a TWT ride report. Each March, for five years running now, I dust the cobwebs off my trusty (&rusty) 1985 Harley Davidson Low Rider (aka The Green Hornet) and take it places angels fear to tread. Namely Mexico way. This year were no different 'cept my usual partner would not be accompaning me. This would a solo ride. The Lone Wolf rides again.

Day 1
Sat Mar 8 2008, 114 miles

At 6pm Saturday night, I was finally leaving my casa. Lord, why does it take me so long to pack?

Once on the road all my misgivings evaporate. I don't care about time anymore. No deadlines. I finally feel like I'm on vacation.

Logged 114 miles to Devine Texas, just south of San Antonio, where I checked into your basic overpriced ($60 night) frumpy motel room. Stained carpet. Torn upholstery. (No rooms at the Quinta in San Antonio.) I was pretty layered-up against the cold, and almost warm actually. Tee shirt, long johns, long sleeved heavy flannel shirt, pull-over goose-down shirt, AlpineStars riding jacket, and finally the rain jacket. The little East Indian man at the Country Corner Inn motel said, in broken English, "You-have-a-lot-of-jackets."

Oh, and by the way, I have no idea where I´m going. I´m just pointed south. I´m headed for Cuartocienegas, but from there, I´m not real sure.

Day 1
271412709_Mz8vQ-L.jpg

Day 2, Sunday Mar 9, 2008 Mexico, otra vez
295 miles Devine, Texas to San Buenaventura, Coahuilla

271412702_3aMLo-L.jpg