• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

DRZ400SM - who has/had them?

Reaction score
Well, I love my Vstrom. Its a great all around tool. BUT...since its my first bike that isnt a "sport" bike....im missing a bit of thrill.

I work in the motorcycle industry, so I know drz is often frowned on how "tame" they are out of the box, but how much do they wake up with the recommended mods? Im a big guy (6'2 - 255) I want the drz for the reliability, the ease of maintenance, the parts availability....but I am considering the husky 610 for the power. I dont want a bike that you are ringing its neck to hit 80mph.

input? If it helps to compare...I ride a well modded crf450x in the dirt, just sold my ktm 400exc dual sport, and ride a dl1000 now, last bike was a euro converted naked fz1.

thanks

DRZ's aren't gonna smoke a crf450x, but they're reliable and cheap to buy and maintain. Id go with a pre 06 e model so you get the better carb.

Well, I love my Vstrom. Its a great all around tool. BUT...since its my first bike that isnt a "sport" bike....im missing a bit of thrill.

I work in the motorcycle industry, so I know drz is often frowned on how "tame" they are out of the box, but how much do they wake up with the recommended mods? Im a big guy (6'2 - 255) I want the drz for the reliability, the ease of maintenance, the parts availability....but I am considering the husky 610 for the power. I dont want a bike that you are ringing its neck to hit 80mph.

input? If it helps to compare...I ride a well modded crf450x in the dirt, just sold my ktm 400exc dual sport, and ride a dl1000 now, last bike was a euro converted naked fz1.

thanks