• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Advice on Teaching the Kids

nevlec

Reaction score
First Name
Charles
Last Name
Nevle
I am looking at getting into dirt biking as a family activity. I've got 3 kids, 13, 12, and 10 who have no motorcycle experience and though I have plenty of street experience I don't when it comes to dirt.

My thinking is just doing the parking lot thing, but my guess is that there may be a better way of teaching. Has anyone been through this that can offer advice?

Thanks!

I am looking at getting into dirt biking as a family activity. I've got 3 kids, 13, 12, and 10 who have no motorcycle experience and though I have plenty of street experience I don't when it comes to dirt.

My thinking is just doing the parking lot thing, but my guess is that there may be a better way of teaching. Has anyone been through this that can offer advice?

Thanks!

Hmm... maybe not the parking lot thing. Big grassy field, maybe so. Clutch control is a must and I would think makes everything else fall into place a bit easier. As a beginner learning how to use that rear brake in conjunction with all the other bike.. parts.. would be useful too. That and just getting used to how the bike reacts differently off road than it does on pavement.

Just my two cents. I'm a beginner myself, so take my advice with a grain of salt. :rider: