• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

xr650l or wr250r

Reaction score
sooo...I'm very new to DS and want some help on my next bike. I started off with a KLR650 but I want something a little more dirt worthy, nimble, lighter, etc. and I have two options.

#1: 2005 XR650l with 18,000 miles for $2800. Plenty of cool stuff and a solid bike.

#2: 2008 WR250R with 3,500 miles for $3100. Again with all kinds of cool stuff with the bike.

So I'm 6'2" 190 and I am looking for a taller bike. I know the both are pretty tall, the XR will most likely be better on the road, the WR has 6 speed transmission and fuel injection (is that better?).

Looking for your wisdom.
Thanks in advance,
combsie

Kinda depends on what you mean by "more dirt worthy". If you are talking mostly gravel roads, fire roads, and some single track, I would prefer the 650L. If you are talking a good bit of single track (especially tight woods), the 250 would better suit you. The 650L is called a Big Red Pig for a reason.

The 650L is called a Big Red Pig for a reason.

Hey Combsie