• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

What is your job?

I am a live sound engineer. Sounds all haughty and stuff but what I really do is turn some knobs to make the band think they sound better ;-) ....
I spent several years traipsing around TX and LA doing one night gigs in clubs and festivals. That life is fun beyond belief but very hard on the health and relationships. When we found out about our first kid I started looking for something in town to get off the road. Enter Texas A&M. I got on in the Rudder Theatre Department doing some of the most boring conferences and speeches ever made. :roll: . I still get to mix a band every now and then, but its usually crappy locals....

I build custom speakers on the side and hope to develop this into a full time gig some day. I enjoy being covered in sawdust more than listening to the inorganic chemists' convention anyday... :suicide:

WOW! 15 years has gone by in a flash!

I'm still a Sound Engineer, but I work at Lone Star Cowboy Church in Montgomery now. I manage all audio and lighting on campus and mix the "broadcast" feed that you hear when you tune in on livestream or facebook.

Between 2004 and now I opened (and closed) my own small sound company, went on tour with a few different Texas Country artists, wrote a few articles that got published in a trade mag, and helped my wife open and operate: www.danielaweaver.com

I haven't been riding since I opened my business. I mothballed my Strom to save money for the business. I'm getting the itch again though, hence why I am back here reading TWTex again! lol.