• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

I have joined the scooter crowd

Reaction score
First Name
Rick
Last Name
Miller
I bought me a Yamaha XMAX 300. So far (700 miles) I love it. It should have a top speed of about 85mph. I was talking to a Honda Reflex owner about highway riding and he said something disconcerting. He said prolonged riding at 75 will burn up the drive belt. I find this hard to believe, but I have no experience with cvt drivetrains. Anybody heard of this?

Reactions: cdc
I purchased my Xmax in late September and already have close to 11,000 miles on it. My first scooter, and I absolutely love it!

I've not heard of the CVT belt burning up, but I ride mine at highway speeds all the time and have had zero problems. Just routine engine and gear drive oil changes, and I changed the stock Dunlop tires to Michelin City Grips at 6000 miles.

Yamaha recommends changing the CVT belt at 12,000 miles. I already have the new belt and will be hitting 12,000 miles soon. I'll see then if the belt looks worn.

I'll show you mine if you'll show me yours...

IMG_5585_16x9a.jpg

It is exciting to see another XMAX owner on twtex. Photos to follow as soon as the rain stops. I have added an accessory bar for gps mounting. I will include a picture of it because I am happy with it.
I have ridden mine to Ft Worth at 70 and it was smooth. According to my gps the speedo is 4 mph fast.

It is exciting to see another XMAX owner on twtex. Photos to follow as soon as the rain stops. I have added an accessory bar for gps mounting. I will include a picture of it because I am happy with it.
I have ridden mine to Ft Worth at 70 and it was smooth. According to my gps the speedo is 4 mph fast.