• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Uncle is Great, Beer is Good, Dual Sport Riders are Crazy - Around the Bend 2010

Just an FYI. The older fellow that broke his collar bone Friday out on River Road was John Schuenemann. He's a 75 year young dirt rider and I might say tough as nails......
John is back at home in Dallas taking it easy,and he said he can't wait for the next ride.
Dang. I hope he recovers quickly. Let us know how he's doing.

Irony

On the ride out to Big Bend, Tricepilot asked me about putting Slime in my tires. I told him that I've been using Ride-On in my tires for 4 years and that I recommend it. This led to a long discussion of the relative merits of using Ride-On or Slime as a flat preventer.

All of this resulting in Trice deciding he would buy some Slime at our next stop and get it in his tires before he went riding. He checked at every store we stopped at between Austin and Big Bend but none of them stocked Slime. So, he contacted Shadman Pete, who was running a day behind us, and asked him to pick up some Slime and spare tubes and bring them to Big Bend. Trice would get them on Thursday evening when Pete arrived in Terlingua. Problem solved.

Of course you can guess what happened. A few miles down the first dirt road we rode on Thursday morning Trice got a flat. The irony of it all!
800301561_ALnGh-L.jpg