• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Galveston

RASZ

Reaction score
All comments are appreciated.

Should I crop this or leave it as is?

Which one of the three below is better?

Last edited by a moderator:
First off, thanks for submitting....

In general, I think there's an issue with the lens flare which appears on the center/left portion of the night shots. Almost looks like a thumb/hand print on the lens is diffusing the image light as it's consistent across the night shots. You might want to check to see if the lens is clean.

I'm no expert, but here's what I see.

Re: #1, I like the attempt. The framing is good with a lot of nice elements of shoreline, piers, boats, diffused sunshine in the clouds. Yet I find the exposure to be sort of unbalanced and that's mostly due to the sun still quite high in the sky when shot. That's a tough shot to do well. And the little dots I assume are two birds? I'd probably have cloned them out. I'm either a half bubble off plumb, or the ocean seems to trail to the side a bit too. Simple post processing can take care of that. Still, a nice attempt.

Re: #2, I like lighthouses and this is a good start to this one. Little things like the power lines are a distraction as is the road surface and yellow line at road center. Possibly by moving to the far side of the road closer to the subject would have done a couple things like eliminate the road/stripe, and put much more of the home/lighthouse which I assume is the focus of the shot in the frame. There's a lot of empty space around it in my opinion.