• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Africa Twin thread

About tubes for the AT I know the Thread is little oder just like to put this out in case people search.....
Before the tubeless conversion I used those tubes good tubes in my opinion

Rear
IRC Tube 110/100-18 Heavy Duty
No did not have issues with heat build up on the highway just put some baby powder and all good

Front
Kenda 2.75/3.00-21 Motorcycle Tube

Found out why my windshield was a little wobbly at speed, the apparently common front subframe crack as seen in the rust line below. Spent a few hours today pulling it apart to get that out to mig weld it up. I'm a super amateur welder, but it was a fun little project. Hoping to get it back together tomorrow, we'll see what time allows.
View attachment 326950

Wasn't too bad getting it all apart honestly, we'll see how it is to put back together I guess.
View attachment 326951

The entire front side weld wasn't doing a thing anymore, boogered that up a bit first. Then I used a little CAD(cardboard assisted design) to make a gusset with some scrap metal i had laying around.
View attachment 326953

View attachment 326954

The factory gussets on the backside were holding it all together, i boogered up the failed weld on that side as well, now we'll see if it'll go another 80k miles before it cracks again.
View attachment 326955
Nice job this makes me think to take my front apart and just Tig weld a couple of stainless steel brace's on to the bracket to prevent it breaking in the first place ....Does anyone know if the 2018 has the same design and issues ?