• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

EAST TX: Anyone still doing the ETX 450 Dual Sport ride?

Reaction score
First Name
Travis
So I've been away from the TWT forum and the running of the East TX 450 for quite a few years after the last event I helped organize in 2013, which sadly was a rain out Sh@t show less than 100 miles in. Although I/We had fun, it was a brutal day. I had invited and dragged along several of my old HS friends who were rookies and had never been on any of the rides I had been doing every year since 2011. I really talked it up and after this short stretch of "dirt" road that took all of us the better part of two hours to get through, most of those guys wouldn't return my calls for a while.

Since that eventful weekend, one of my closest friends and fellow riders, won his class while racing up Pikes Peak and the sadly left this world litteraly the day after his elderly mother died. I subsequently got involved and helped crew a couple teams in 2014, 2015 and 2016 race to the clouds in the Pikes Peak Hill Climb with both the vintage class and middle weight class wins each year. My wife and I completely remodeled our 65 year old home and I've moved my 5000 sqft motorcycle workshop more times in the last 5 years than I care to admit. So to say I've been too preoccupied to ride my XR440 around the block let alone a 450 mile 2 day event is the understatement of the last five minutes.