• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Basecamp - Mac, Question

Duke

Forum Supporter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4,642
Location
Saint Johns, FL
First Name
Duke
Last Name
Dixon
At one time I thought I could go in to a profile/setting/function/menu whatchumacallit in Basecamp and set up fuel cost per gallon and my vehicles mpg and how many miles between fill ups, to help plan fuel stops. I am planning a route right now from the house to Roswell, NM for this weekend and got to playing around in Basecamp to build the route and for the life of me I can't find that place now.

This is the closest I have found to the screen I thought I remember.

mSFzGMn.png



Anyone know where that menu/page/entry place is?

Am I losing my mind?
 
Last edited:

Tourmeister

Keeper of the Asylum
Admin
Joined
Feb 28, 2003
Messages
47,274
Location
Huntsville
First Name
Scott
Last Name
Friday
No clue.

But seriously, would that feature really be all that useful? Your bike can run over 300 miles on a tank can't it? I don't know about your tush, but mine makes me get off the bike about every 100-150 miles whether I want to or not or whether I need gas or not. I just ball park it unless I am going through an area where finding gas might be a serious issue.

Are you trying to plot out an Ironbutt ride? I could see it being useful there where you REALLY want to maximize everything to the last little drop and stop.
 

Duke

Forum Supporter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4,642
Location
Saint Johns, FL
First Name
Duke
Last Name
Dixon
No clue.

But seriously, would that feature really be all that useful? Your bike can run over 300 miles on a tank can't it? I don't know about your tush, but mine makes me get off the bike about every 100-150 miles whether I want to or not or whether I need gas or not. I just ball park it unless I am going through an area where finding gas might be a serious issue.

Are you trying to plot out an Ironbutt ride? I could see it being useful there where you REALLY want to maximize everything to the last little drop and stop.
Taking the car, wife and wedding present(s), and a couple of suit cases. I am a data nerd, and is more of an exercise of dag'nabit... it used to show and estimated fuel cost when you click "route info", now it doesn't. Where did it go?

:thumb:
 

M38A1

Admin
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
19,310
Location
North of Weird
First Name
Scott
Fill the VW in The Woodlands, drive to Roswell. Do the wedding thing. Fill up in Roswell and drive to The Woodlands.

One tank each way. :deal:


.
 

Duke

Forum Supporter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4,642
Location
Saint Johns, FL
First Name
Duke
Last Name
Dixon
Now I am bored and cross eyed... I know it USED to be there, but I'll be danged if I can find it now.

Put this together since my last post... yes I am bored....

RGC1l59.png
 

Duke

Forum Supporter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4,642
Location
Saint Johns, FL
First Name
Duke
Last Name
Dixon
Fill the VW in The Woodlands, drive to Roswell. Do the wedding thing. Fill up in Roswell and drive to The Woodlands.

One tank each way. :deal:


.
Yep, that is the plan, well to my Brother In Laws in Carlsbad anyway. Just shy of 700 miles.
 

Tourmeister

Keeper of the Asylum
Admin
Joined
Feb 28, 2003
Messages
47,274
Location
Huntsville
First Name
Scott
Last Name
Friday
What is the difference between price per gallon and cost per gallon? Should that maybe be cost per mile?
 

Duke

Forum Supporter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4,642
Location
Saint Johns, FL
First Name
Duke
Last Name
Dixon
What is the difference between price per gallon and cost per gallon? Should that maybe be cost per mile?
doph.... :doh:

yep... i did say i did it quickly, its always the details that catch you out isn't it? :lol:

I was even dyslexic and wrong on my GS as well. Although I feel like I go 350 miles at times between fill ups. But last time I check MPG it was 37.3. Oh well.

bqCPoqV.png
 
Last edited:

Duke

Forum Supporter
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
4,642
Location
Saint Johns, FL
First Name
Duke
Last Name
Dixon
Found what I was looking for earlier by accident tonight while get the GPS loaded for this weekends road trip.

So it wasn't in Basecamp after all, It is in the GPS... :doh: Still may be losing my though.


sGdGzev.png


d5lUPbn.png
 

Tourmeister

Keeper of the Asylum
Admin
Joined
Feb 28, 2003
Messages
47,274
Location
Huntsville
First Name
Scott
Last Name
Friday
:lol2:

I'm just giving you a hard time because I am a bird of the same feather... :-P
 

garfey

Forum Supporter
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
2,595
Location
Cushing suburbs
First Name
Dave
His though, of course, just like he said.
(We ain't right. We may not be wrong but we definitely ain't right!)

I use that function on the Zumos all the time, on the bikes. It is especially nice on the Street Rod which has that lovely Sonar-Pinger-in-a-tortuouosly-shaped-tank fuel sender/gauge that is renowned for giving erroneous readings that can change drastically while you're looking at the gauge.

"Oh, good, I have a quarter-tank left . . . What? Now the Low Fuel Light is on! . . . Oh, good, it's back to a quarter-tank! . . . Now it says better than a half-tank?" (That last thought thunk as you coast to a stop, hopefully not in Friday evening Dallas traffic, E-Flat empty!!!)

Curiously to me, the fuel function will only work if the 550 is in a bike mount but it works on the 660 in either car or bike mount. I think enough folk asked why (/complained) re the 550 that the programmers were told to fix that shortcoming (which would be a "feature" in Apple-speak :lol2:) before the 660 was released, but ????????

Still, and back on topic, that feature does nothing for planning fuel stops prior to a ride/trip like GasBuddy does.
 
Last edited:
Top