• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Calling out the Lurkers and New folks!

Howdy, I live in Austin.
Just turned 31.
I used to own a cb350f, but it was a project I never finished. I'm getting laid off at the end of the year and plan to buy a bike (and gear of course) with my severence package... assuming I've found another job and don't have to live off that money. :)
A lot of my friends from UT have bikes and they keep urging me to get something and go ride with them... I'm a totaly noob when it comes to riding though, so I'm afraid they'd want to go faster than I was comfortable.
I took the MSF course about 10 years ago, but never got my liscence.
The bikes I'm considering are the gs500e or f, sv650, and the new ninja 650. Which one will probably be determined by how much money I have left after I buy the safety gear. :)

Hey Travis, welcome to the site!

:tab If it has been 10 years and you never rode much after taking the class, you might give serious consideration to taking it again. Once you get a bike, I would be extremely cautious about going out on group rides right away. You would be much better off putting a few thousand miles on the bike by yourself. This way you can get used to riding and the bike without having to worry about the pressures of group riding. Of the bikes you mentioned, that ninja 650 is a screamer... Insurance premiums will likely be VERY high. The SV650 would be great and they are a blast to ride.

:tab Keep an eye on the Upcoming Events forum as there is a regular bike night. Right now they are meeting at Rudy's BBQ on 620 on Tuesdays, but they may change it so watch for the posts.