• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Carb issues, 82 Suzuki GS650

Reaction score
Hello all. Working on my 82 Suzuki GS 650 I took off, took apart, and cleaned the carbs,..replaced many o rings, set the float height, and re-installed. The bike will run, but #4 cyl will not fire. It has good compression, and a good hot spark, that leaves fuel. Any suggestions on where to start?. I'm a retired HVAC tech, but a novice on carbs! Thanks.

Last edited:
Sounds like that carb is still clogged up somewhere. If the cylinder is firing only at certain revs, its likely a jet. If the cylinder isn't firing at all, it could be a problem with the diaphragm or blockage in the fuel feed. Is the slide moving with the other carbs? In any case, if you're absolutely certain you have spark and air, the carbs need to come off again. Good luck. I'm in the middle of bringing an '80 GS1000 back to life and just got parts in yesterday, so my carb journey is similarly about to begin.

Sounds like that carb is still clogged up somewhere. If the cylinder is firing only at certain revs, its likely a jet. If the cylinder isn't firing at all, it could be a problem with the diaphragm or blockage in the fuel feed. Is the slide moving with the other carbs? In any case, if you're absolutely certain you have spark and air, the carbs need to come off again. Good luck. I'm in the middle of bringing an '80 GS1000 back to life and just got parts in yesterday, so my carb journey is similarly about to begin.
Thanks. I'm getting really good at removing these carbs! I did notice that one of the slides was not acting like the other three. Oh well, I'll rip them out again, but first I'll remove the bowl plug to see if there is gas in there.