• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Chain theory

Scorch

Reaction score
Note: I searched for a general purpose chain thread but did not find anything newer than 2013.

Ok, I am not a chain expert I just have thoughts. Feel free to disagree with me :) I'm still trying to complete my understanding of chains and chain lubricants.

My personal MC history had me running a 1991 Suzook GS1100G and 1985 Madura 1200 all through the 90s and up until 2008, when I bought my V-Strom 650. So, I was really, really spoiled when it came to drivetrain maint. :trust: Both of those machines used a pain-free shaft drive.

The Strom was great, may fav bike of all time (until I got my 2018 V-Strom 1000). But I so hate messing with the chain and sprockets, it's annoying and expensive. Arghh, ok, alright... calming down....

My 650 accumulated 70,000 miles before I sold it, and I tried all kinds of chains and chain lubricants. I'll post my main log, faster than trying to explain.

650maint.JPG

Last chain was
FRONT SPROCKET SIZE 16 Tooth w/ Rubber Dampener - $2.00
REAR SPROCKET SIZE 47 Tooth - Stock Size
DID 525VX - NATURAL X'ring

I wish I had kept better notes on exactly what chain, and how I oiled it, how often, etc. But as I think back, I recall trying several approaches.

• PJ1 lube every 500 miles
  • No lube, after all it is an X ring chain and lube isn't going to do anything on the exterior ( a recent FortNine video reinforces that)
  • Replacing the chain only when it reach the limits
  • Replacing the sprockets and chain when the sprockets clearly needed replacing.