• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Cloudcroft vs. Colorado

DFW_Warrior

Hmmmm.....
Forum Supporter
Reaction score
First Name
Bill
I'm looking for a little advice from folks that have been to one or both of these places. My Wife and I will be in the Raton, NM area here in a few weeks and after we are finished up there, we plan on taking the dirt bikes somewhere a little cooler than what we have here in TX. What I'm wondering is which areas are more beginner friendly as she isn't the most experienced rider out there. Don't get me wrong, she isn't a total beginner as we have put in quite a few rides in our past, but she also isn't one to wheelie over downed trees and/or one to go bashing through boulder fields.

We are riding non-plated bikes, I'm on a KTM300xcw and she is riding a KLX140rf.

Here is where we are looking at so far:
Couldcroft NM
Salida CO
Lake George CO
or maybe the area NW of Rye CO

What are y'alls thoughts?

Years ago I spent a few days riding around salida and it was wonderful. Don't know about non plated bikes though as I just don't know the trails up there. Cloudcroft would probably be much cooler if the forest is open given 1500 foot higher elevation.

Years ago I spent a few days riding around salida and it was wonderful. Don't know about non plated bikes though as I just don't know the trails up there. Cloudcroft would probably be much cooler if the forest is open given 1500 foot higher elevation.