• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

First time doing suspension work: Fork springs for DRZ400S?

Reaction score
First Name
Stephen
I am 6-2, 250 lbs. I've noticed the front forks on my DRZ400S are bottoming out a little more often than I think they should be. I've never done suspension work before but want to take a stab at it. I do most of the maintenance on my vehicles and want learn more about motorcycle maintenance.

Where can I find fork springs for my DRZ400S? Any good guides to installing? What kind of tools will I need?

If you are literally just re-springing the forks basic hand tools is all you need

now is the part why tell you if they haven’t been serviced in the last two years you need to do more than just respring them

At the very least cleaning flushing and putting new oil in

and honestly they really need to be re-valved for your weight and use both compression and dampening is going to be way off for your weight with new springs

It might be good enough by just putting new oil in the correct spring in there but this is something common I see were people would be better off spending once crying once rather than doing it a second time

The cartridge forks on the DRC are about as easy as you can get as far as complex suspensions go there’s a couple of tricks to be able to get the cartridge loose without a special tool and while I’m sure somebody will pipe up and say all you need is a hammer a crescent wrench and some plastic PVC pipe to replace the seals and bushings I’ll politely disagree with them having re-done the job for people more times than I can count when they leak shortly after being put together with barged tools