• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Group riding etiquette and trip preparation?

Reaction score
First Name
Stephen
I have been riding on and off for maybe 10 years but have almost always ridden alone. One of my new years resolutions is to meet some people and go on a few rides and hopefully get over the social anxiety that keeps me away.

In my time riding alone, I am nearly certain I've picked up some bad habits. Where would be a good place to start reading up on group riding etiquette? Any one-off advice from a seasoned group rider would also be welcome. What's that one thing that's really annoying that the new guy does?

Another one of my goals is to take a few 400-600 mile round trips this year (Maybe Huntsville to Dallas for a night or Huntsville to Fredricksburg for the weekend) and eventually work my way up to being able to go on a ~1600 mile round trip from my home in Huntsville, TX to Elizabethtown, KY to visit a few high school friends. What is a good way to prepare?

The bike I currently have is a 2015 FJ09 that I regularly take out for 150-300 mile day trips. I don't really do much to prepare for these trips other than bring a little bit of water, food, a few layers depending on weather, cell phone, and portable charger for cell phone. I love getting semi-lost and finding my way back home.

IMG_20191231_143731 (2).jpg

Last edited:
We've all been in that position - so the main thing is not to over-think or over-worry. Just join a Pie Run (see thread about Hico, or meetup tomorrow) and you'll have plenty of opportunity to meet folks and at least do a hour or so post-lunch ride in a group.