• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Lane Filtering Legal in Utah

Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Last Name
Gill
Saw an article on this today. Started this week. This is true filtering, not lane splitting.

I can see that as a good option. Less dangerous except for angry cagers out to get you. It would have to have like a 5 mph Max speed or something. Very interesting regardless.

Don't think I've ever heard that distinction, but okay.

It's a bad idea to do it at speed anyway.

Why? California has no problem with it. I think legalizing full fledged lane splitting is a great idea. I've been doing my part to get Houstonian's prepared for that for many years...

The Utah law has a lot of stipulations... the roadway can't be posted for anything higher than 45 mph; the vehicular traffic must be stopped; and I'm not sure about the speed of the bike but I think it is restricted to something like 5-15 mph.

The law is a test for a three year period to see how things shake out. If the moto riders and cagers behave themselves then the possibility would exist that the next revision to the law would allow for actual lane splitting while traffic is moving.

The terms tend to be used interchangeably, but as stated, the Utah law is for bikes to go to the front of the line when cars are stopped at stop lights (lane filtering), not driving in moving traffic with both the motorcycle and cars moving (lane splitting).

I think it is kind of all lane filtering is lane splitting, but not all lane splitting is lane filtering?

I am one that is not for it, just seems dangerous, and another reason for people to get mad at bikers ("they are cutting in line!"), regardless of it being legal or not.