• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

photo editing software recommendations

twtex85

Forum Supporter
Reaction score
First Name
David
Last Name
Adams
Well since I signed up for the Project 2011 contest and with that a new commitment to improve my picture taking this year I would like to get some recommendatons for photo editing software from some of you more experienced camera buffs out there. Will use it mainly to import photos and do some minor retouching and will be running it on a Windows based PC.

I am not that experienced with photo editing software so I would like to get something that is user friendly for novices and also something that is not to expensive. I am hoping to find something in the $100-$150 range that could be used to learn on and act as a stepping stone to the more comprehensive editing software like Photoshop as my picture taking skill improves.

Any recommendations would be helpful especially if you have experience with the software you recommend. Thanks for the input

Lightroom 3...I think it is $199. LR will handle 99% of the editing you will need to do and also helps organize your photos.

Photoshop Elements is a good place to start.... Like any new software there'll be a learning curve. If you're just looking at basic touch-up, cropping and resizing there are lots of free programs available.

Picasa is free. Use that until you max it out. Or the software that came with your camera.
Posted via Mobile Device

Lightroom 3...I think it is $199. LR will handle 99% of the editing you will need to do and also helps organize your photos.

More like $299, but it does the vast majority of my editing Try the free 30 day trial. Watch out though, it is like crack to an addict.