• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Post your "my bike left me stranded..." story

My brand new Honda Trail 90 left me stranded 2 days after I bought it. I called the shop to ask them what to do. They said to check the gas tank. :lol2:

On BMWs, I've put 70,000 miles on two w/o a breakdown. At least not the kind that leaves me on the side of the road.

When I started riding everyone either rode Harleys or British bikes. Hondas were new on the market and no "real motorcyclist" would ride a Honda. If you rode a Harley or a British bike you expected it to break down. The quid pro quo was that you could almost always fix them with a screw driver and a couple of wrenches. Back in the day, a tool kit was actually a necessity and was used regularly on the road. A group ride was always sprinkled with a series of stops to fix someone's carb, clutch, or ignition. Maybe we were all naive or just stupid, because we would think nothing of taking off across the desert on something less reliable than a lawnmower. Riders that toured were crazy. A brand new Norton, Triumph or BSA straight off the show room floor was not a good candidate to make it across the USA without some sort of mechanical problems. There are still a lot of old bikes running, not too fast, but running just the same. They just take a lot of knowledge about what a particular knocking sound might mean. Is that a rod going or is the clutch bearing getting ready to go out again?