• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Should I get a new ___ (dual-sport or straight dirt) . . . ?

hello ‘idropemalot’…..does your screen name imply you’re are beginner, or you love pushing the envelope? Anywho…..you’ll love Big Bend state& national,parks in W TX. Also, you’ll really like going into Mexico with the two wheel Texas crowd (2 trips a year?). Do you have a transport truck or trailer for a bike if you go enduro (not street legal). I’d personally do dual purpose but either way you can’t go wrong. happy Trails
That's a great question actually haha, thanks for asking - perhaps a bit of both. . . the screen name is a little dose of humorous humility I suppose haha.

I started riding 2.5-3 years ago with street and transitioned into dirt about 1.5 years ago. All my dirt experience is in the Black Hills of SD, as I got family up there. Got a chance to cut my teeth on a small lil' KLX 140 up there, as well as a TW200 (one of the greatest bikes ever IMO . . . I got a soft spot for small displacement haha). Anyway that's where I eventually decided to grab the KTM 125 for cheap to try and step things up a bit. . .

I wouldn't consider myself skilled by many, if any metrics, but want to keep on practicing to feel comfy on some pretty technical enduro trails.

EDIT: yea I can haul in my truck but after hearing everyone's input here, sounds like dual sport is incontestably the way to go around there

Last edited: