• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Trip To Texas Hill Country (Adventure Tejas)

Jarrett

Forum Supporter
I'm new to riding and starting to branch out from local rides a bit. Got a chance to do some riding in the Texas Hill Country this weekend. Got in about 600 miles in total or so.

One day on pavement and two days in the dirt. It was a blast, especially the dirt riding.

The pavement day was just me running through the popular roads out there. 16, 337, 336, 335, 39 mostly. That was a lot of fun, especially all the corners. I was by myself, in and out of phone coverage and on a new set of big block off road tires, so I kept it fairly tame.

You've all probably seen the Three Sisters videos before, so nothing new. Here's mine :)

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PwxgodZ2EM"]Three Sisters on Africa Twin - YouTube[/ame]

The two days on dirt, I went out with a tour company called Adventure Tejas. I was hesitant to spend the money with them, but glad I did after the fact. They have some nice routes planned out that were 70% off pavement. Roughly 375 miles in two days.

Lots of water crossings, dirt, gravel, sand, etc. The new tires (Shinko 804/TKC 80 which they recommended to me beforehand) saved my butt in a few places. In the deep gravel and especially in the sandy areas. I would have been down no doubt on the stock tires.

Wes and Stephen are good tour guides, imo. They connected me to their Sena group and we talked all the way through the ride. They told me about the area we were riding in and stories about other rides through there in the past.