• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

can I ride your motorcycle?

• Thread starter Deleted member 23845
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 23845

Question from our daughter's boyfriend as above. As a typical engineer I requested more data on his riding experience, risk awareness, last time riding, etc. Despite his strong appeals, I said no, but in a kind way. I dont even swap bikes with good friends that I know ride constantly and have great riding skills.

A buddy reminded me of this. So true.

"ask to borrow my lawnmower, date my daughter or dance with my wife, but never ask to ride my motorcycle."

I have borrowed my brothers, he has borrowed mine.
We learned to ride together on the same bikes.
While I probably have more experience overall than he does, I have no issues with him riding mine.
It is also understood that if we damage the bikes while borrowing it, we will pay for it.

My oldest brother (who does not own a bike but has a M endorsement) has borrowed my previous bike (1100 Shadow), but he does not want to ride my Goldwing, he does not feel confident enough.

I have offered other experience riders to ride my Wing, and have been reciprocated with theirs (Joe and I swapped a bit on our trip in August, he had never ridden a 1500, and I got to ride his K1600).

Last edited:
I let most anyone I know ride my scooters. Usually they are way nicer to them than I am. After all, it is only a motorcycle. Putting a smile on a friend's face is worth way more than anything. Love me some scooters. I usually don't ride other folks bikes unless it is brand new and needs to have a first crash put on it, then I am your Huckleberry.

I would never ask, but have been offered.