• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

2009 DRZ400S Clutch Slipping

D

DM164450

It’s cool to have some folks I can ask DRZ questions of. I only know one person in real life near me that has one. Guess I have an average amount of mechanical ability and I worked as a commercial electrician for 20+ years...but I only have about 10 years motorcycle experience.

2009 DRZ400S, purchased by me at 19K+ miles, was never ridden off road until I did it, and it was stupid clean…cleaner than my dirt bike.

Clutch fibers and plates were worn so I replaced them. Changed the oil and filter and put in Rotella T and an OEM filter.

Took it to Big Bend. Rode pavement out of Cottonwood west to Santa Elena Overlook, than back east over to Ross Maxwell to 118 east and turned south on that road into Chisos Basin. There’s some hills on that route.

Twice on that route, after a hill, the thing free-wheeled. I’m assuming the clutch over heated and just slipped/spun. FWIW it seemed Ok on flat ground.

Ate lunch in the basin, checked free play at the lever and had more than the manual calls for, and the only thing I could think to do was loosen the clutch cable as much as possible and still disengage the clutch. I rode another 100 miles or so that day…maybe 50 on dirt. The last run was all pavement from Rio Grande Village to Cottonwood…so I hit all those hills again. And had zero problems.

I mic’d the old fibers and steels but didn’t mic the springs…I should have. I have new springs and a new clutch cable in the mail. I’d bet the farm I put the clutch pack together correctly, but when I take it apart I’ll verify that. Guess also verify I didn’t burn/tear any of the fibers off or warp steels.